Student Spotlight: Morgan Perry

Tell us about yourself.
Hello, my name is Morgan Perry, and I am from Houston, Texas. I recently graduated from Duquesne University earlier in May with a major in Marketing and a minor in Management. My work experience is limited to several internships due to the fact I am pursuing my MBA immediately after graduating with my bachelor’s degree. I became familiar with the MBA-SBP program through an admissions recruiter who spoke in several of my undergraduate classes. I loved that this program was different from other graduate programs, because it had smaller class sizes and a strong focus on sustainability. I also chose Duquesne’s program, because I believe it will help me achieve my goals of starting my own freelance marketing company. I am excited to incorporate what I will learn about sustainability and eco-friendly practices into my workplace.

What is one of your favorite things to do in Pittsburgh?
One of my favorite things about living in Pittsburgh is all of the unique secondhand stores throughout the city. I love finding everything form vintage items, to clothes with tags still on them, and cool antiques. It’s also one of my favorite hobbies, because although it is technically shopping, it feels like a scavenger hunt to find one of a kind item that no one else has or something that is no longer being made.

If you could turn any activity into an Olympic sport, what would you have a good chance at winning a medal for?
If Ms. Pac-Man was a collegiate-level sport, or a sport in general, I would be a gold medalist. My mom used to take me to arcades and that was her favorite game and overtime it slowly became mine too. If all goes well I will have a Ms. Pac-Man machine in my future home!

What skill would you like to master?
My new year resolution this year is to learn how to do a pull up. This may not be a skill depending on who you ask, but it is one I would like to and will master before 2022.

What is the best way to start the day?
I love to start my day by waking up early and going to the gym. I love working out and starting my day with being active. It helps me relieve stress and helps put me in a good and have a positive attitude throughout the day. My best days are the ones where I start my day by going to the gym or being active outside.

Where would you spend all of your time if you could?
God willing, I would spend all of my time at a beach with my friends and family. We would all live close to one another and be able to go to the beach every day. I am not partial to a specific beach or area, but it would be nice to be surrounded by the people I love and be able to enjoy the ocean and sand every day.